top of page

Interviewing Heavy Pulse


Throughout my years in secondary school I had known of a young DJ producing his own music, I knew and had met Marwan (Heavy Pulse) at a couple of social events but I had never really talked to him.

I asked if I could do a short interview with him as he was leaving the country the next day, he agreed as long as I plugged his Soundcloud at the end, I agreed and so we talked.

I started by asking what got him into music production, he told me 'it was away to escape my parents fighting' he continued to discuss how music had changed the way he approached situations. He told me that after having an argument with his brother he went onto write his first song which included his voice 'The River' he described the words as powerful and meaning, the song describes how he loves his brother but how he felt betrayed by his brothers choices and actions, which effected his upbringing.

He went on to tell me how making music helped him deal with His Breakup with his girlfriend and how his Dyslexia and Aspergers really hindered him at school, but with this musical output he coped well.

We then spoke about his alter ego, Heavy Pulse, he told me when he becomes the masked DJ (Heavy Pulse) he feels music flow through him, the music becoming another part of him, he showed me a couple of tracks which not only showed his progression through music but also his range, some songs being harsh and full of hate, some being slow and ambient.

Heavy Pulse is a confusing man, he doesn't smile, and doesn't talk about his family, Marwan was talking to me about his childhood and how Heavy Pulse isn't the same person as I was talking to. He reassured me that he didn't have multiple personality disorder, but in his words 'Heavy Pulse is my Superman, I (Marwan) am like Clark Kent).

https://soundcloud.com/heavypulse I promised


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page